top of page
Search
  • lk124419

close to home part 2

In My recent blog, close home, I talked about how my mom used to make cookies and soup. In that blog, I remade the cookies of my childhood. Since I converted my childhood cookies in my last blog, now I will make my childhood soup.

The soup that I used to eat as a child was potato soup. I loved it so much. My mom's potato soup is one of my favorite meals that she makes. She usually made this soup when I was sick or when the winter season.

I decided to make this soup because I hadn't had it in a while, and I had a taste for it. I asked my mom how to make the soup and what I should put in it. She told me the ingredients and how to make the soup. After she told me, I began to know why she had not made it in a while. It takes a long time. I think it is kind of like making mashed potatoes. But waiting longer and adding more ingredients.

This time, I will include a how-to since it's not as simple as my other recipients. It's still easy. It takes longer, and you have to have patience with this one, but it's still manageable.


I like to start by making my 2-3 pieces of bacon. After they are done, I put them to the side for later. I then used the same skillet and put some onion and garlic with the bacon grease to give the onion and garlic more flavor. Afterward, I like to transfer the veggies into a soup pot. I put some all-purpose flour, milk, and chicken broth into the pot and then cover and let that simmer. Then I like to add 2-3 potatoes cut into squares and mix them. I let the potatoes cook in the mixture by covering the lid for around 20 mins. Come back and add heavy cream, sour cream cheese, and all the seasoning I would like to put. I let it cook for 20-30 more minutes until I feel like it's the right consistency, and then I put the bacon from earlier into the pot on top after chopping up the bacon, and now the soup is done.


Ingredients

2-3 potatoes

2 cups of chicken broth

½ cup of butter

onion

garlic cloves

⅓ cup of all-purpose flour

2 cups of milk

⅔ cup of heavy cream

Season to your liking with

Salt, pepper, and seasoning salt.

⅔ cups of sour cream

Cheddar Shredded cheese

2-3 strips of chopped up cooked bacon

Here is what the soup looked like when I was done.








I liked the soup. It was delicious, and I would make it again

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page